Skip to main content

Privacy & Security FAQs

Please find some FAQs for security or privacy related questions for Lyrebird Health

What information will be retained by the third party (audio file, transcript or both)?

All consultation audio is transcribed in real time. By the time you have finalised your consultation, all audio has already been transformed into text and the audio file is discarded — it is never stored.

This processing takes place within the same region your data is collected in — for example, Australian data is processed and stored in Australia, and UK data is processed and stored in the UK.

How long is this retained?

Unless you save your notes within Lyrebird, they are automatically deleted from the platform. If saved, notes are stored in an encrypted, in-region database for 7 days by default after which time they are securely and permanently deleted. This window gives you time to transfer your Lyrebird notes to your own device or clinical system.

You may choose a shorter period (as low as 24 hours) or extend retention up to 6 months in your account settings.

If retained, is it de-identified?

Data is stored in access-controlled, encrypted databases requiring authenticated logins. All transmitted data is encrypted in transit. Our people and third-party data storage and processing providers are required to meet the same security and confidentiality obligations we hold ourselves to, and are bound by their own agreements.

Where is our data stored?

Data is stored on servers located within the same region as your deployment (for example, Australia or the UK), hosted on Amazon Web Services (AWS) infrastructure.


What measures are in place to encrypt and securely transfer data?

Encryption: All data is encrypted at rest (AES-256) and in transit (TLS 1.3), hosted on Lyrebird Health's regional AWS infrastructure.

Controlled access: Under strict data processing agreements with AWS, access to stored information is tightly regulated - no external parties, including AWS, can access or alter patient data.

Are there any secondary uses of the date?

No. Data is never used for marketing, is never sold, and is never used to train or fine-tune our AI models.

Can multiple people be logged in at once?

Yes, multiple people can be logged in at the same time. Logging out affects only that specific session. To log out of all sessions across all devices:

  1. Navigate to the 'Settings' tab within your Lyrebird App

  2. Click 'Security' under the 'Account' section on the left-hand side

  3. This opens the 'Account Security Settings' page

  4. Scroll to the bottom and click 'Log out all sessions'


​For full detail on our current compliance certifications and sub-processors, see our Trust Centre.

For any further questions please contact our support team by emailing [email protected] or by starting a chat by clicking on the purple bubble on the bottom right hand side of the screen.

Did this answer your question?